Dear Hudson River: How May I Help You?

It’s been almost three months now since we issued our press release and began the Hudson River Run 2012 campaign in earnest. A lot has been accomplished since early January, but there is still much left to be done. As of today there are only 39 days until I begin the run from Lake Tear of the Clouds!!

A great many of the logistics have been taken care of to this point, with some still outstanding. Our publicity campaign has been going extremely well (we have 4 press clips so far, with more to come). And although there are still quite a few loose ends to tie up, the bulk of the remaining work now lies in the fundraising.

Our goal, as many of you may remember from our first announcement, is to raise a minimum of $50,000, with a top tier goal of $100,000. If you’ve already made a direct donation to the charity, I want to thank you again for your wonderful, heartfelt support. The generosity you’ve put forth is very positive, and will certainly come back to you several times over. This is the way of the Universe.

But with our campaign on Crowdrise standing at just a little under $4000, we still have a long way to go. Ok, so how will we get there? Well, in several ways, actually….

1. Make A Donation
For those of you who have already contributed, I wouldn’t ask you to donate again (unless you were inclined to), but for those who haven’t yet, this is a great opportunity to give back, and also a chance to show others your commitment to selfless things. By giving, you can demonstrate to your friends, colleagues and family that you care about the environment, and the future of your children and grandchildren (if you don’t have children, just humor me) http://www.crowdrise.com/HudsonRiverRun2012

2. Spread The Word And Encourage Others to Donate
This is called ‘casting the net wider’ and is a great way to contribute to the success of any goodwill endeavor. You’ve put your own foot forward, and you probably know at least 10 or 20 others who share your ideals and your willingness to contribute to a future with clean water. All you have to do is forward this link http://www.crowdrise.com/HudsonRiverRun2012 to some of the people in your contacts list who you know won’t be put off by such a note. And here’s what you can tell them:

Email subject line: Can you help protect the Hudson River ?
Email body: My friend Todd Jennings is a runner, and is doing something really special to help protect the Hudson River and its watersheds. Beginning on May 12th, he will run the entire 315-mile length of the Hudson over the course of eight days in an effort to raise $100,000. I have already made a donation to his cause, and I hope you will to. It needn’t be a large pledge; even $10 will do. For you see, if Todd can get several thousand people to give even a small sum, he will hit his goal and the project will be a great success. The non-profit organization that he’s running for is Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, http://www.clearwater.org, and they do great things for the environment. To read more about the details of Todd’s run, you can visit the event Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hudson-River-Run-2012/206616579427914. Please consider making a donation to this terrific cause, just as I have done. Here is the link to his fundraising page: http://www.crowdrise.com/HudsonRiverRun2012

3. Run With Me and Become A Member of Our Fundraising Team!
Yes, that’s right, I am asking for your company for some of the many miles that I will be out there. This is an opportunity for you to be an integral part of what it is we’re doing, and being that I will expect to struggle out there at times, your presence will be a source of great emotional comfort and support. 🙂  I encourage each and every one of you who is a runner to come out and run part of the course with me. In consideration for that, all I would say is that I encourage you to be a part of the fundraising team as well. All of this cannot be done by one person – “it takes a village” as the old saying goes. So, how do you do this?

Step 1 – Join Crowdrise and then join our Project
If you don’t already have a Crowdrise account, it’s very easy to join – only 5 short fields to fill in, and then a photo. Just go to this link: http://www.crowdrise.com/register/personal/step1/4f7b10b6c28af

After you’ve joined (or logged in if you already have an account), join our project. Go to this link http://www.crowdrise.com/HudsonRiverRun2012, scroll down to the Team section of the page and click the “Join The Team” button. Oh, and don’t forget to be sure that you’ve added a profile pic to your Crowdrise account; this adds legitimacy to you and your effort. Your profile pic will appear in the Team list with all of the rest of us.

Step 2 – Decide Where And How Far You’ll Run
My run is segmented into 8 days, with route summary details and maps for each day shown below. You are welcome to run part or all of any of the legs in the route, but just keep in mind that I unfortunately will not be able to provide you with transportation to/from your starting and finishing points, as we will have a schedule to keep, and besides that, our car will be chock full of all of our supplies.

Day 1 (Sat, May 12th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/50426412
Day 2 (Sun, May 13th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/58739584
Day 3 (Mon, May 14th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/66819644
Day 4 (Tue, May 15th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/69280504
Day 5 (Wed, May 16th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/70112134
Day 6 (Thu, May 17th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/70113372
Day 7 (Fri, May 18th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/70114996
Day 8 (Sat, May 19th) – http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/70116656

Step 3 – Ask For Support
Share your project fundraising page with anyone and everyone you know and love, tell them that you are running with me to support the Hudson River, and ask them for sponsorship. Tell them how many miles you plan to run, and ask for, say $2.00 per mile, or even $1.00 a mile. If, for example, you run 15 miles with me and get 20 people to pledge $2.00/mile, you’ll raise $600 ! See how easy it is?? This is the power of running !!

_________________________________

Well, that about sums it up, I think, at least for now. If you have any questions at all, just ask, and I will answer promptly, OK? Thanks in advance to all of you for your support on this great project. For updates on my training and other stuff related to my running endeavors, visit my blog at https://trailtodd.wordpress.com

Now, let’s go run that river!!!

About Todd Jennings

I am a runner, a father, a philosopher, and a writer. I am also a seeker. Among the things that I seek are beauty and truth. From an external perspective, I've found both of those things when I run in the woods or on the quiet trails of the mountain tops . With each new run, more truth and beauty reveals itself to me. And so I keep running....
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dear Hudson River: How May I Help You?

  1. tribix says:

    Hi Todd

    If you are keeping a daily schedule… Have you given thought to what kind of pace you intend to keep? I’m just wondering should someone choose to run with you on a particular day what they can expect?

    • Trail Todd says:

      Jim, I’ll be running a VERY slow pace, probably in the 12:00 to 13:00 per mile range. I may run faster than that from time to time, but I may walk for long stretches as well. And so, anyone who runs with me will just have to adjust, I suppose. LOL 😉
      And I’m not sure what you mean by keeping a daily schedule apart from having a detailed route to run each day (which I have). What I do need to do is strart documenting who will be planning to run with me where and when; I’ve gotten a lot of anecdotal feedback from people, but I need to nail down specifics. Hopefully I will be able to post those plans on a blog entry that I can continue to update…

      • runningwithmydemons says:

        Thanks Todd, I suppose I was referring to the schedule you referenced in Step #2 above.

  2. Richard D'Ambrosio says:

    TJ, My biggest fear for you is your innate desire to run much faster than 12 to 13-minute miles. Happy to run with you and slow you down.

  3. Reblogged this on The Quotidian Hudson and commented:
    Rather Than linking to Todd’s post, I thought I would reblog it. Come out and watch him run! Donate! Follow his blog…

  4. Pingback: 5-9-12 – Long May You Run « The Quotidian Hudson

Leave a Reply

